cucumber feta salad

Yesterday was a rough day.

I won’t give you the nerdy dirty details of my life as an audiology intern. We’ll do an analogy instead.

Let’s say you go to your pediatrician, or perhaps a primary care physician given that you are likely over 18. He/She is doing a routine test, and goes to tap your knee with the funny triangle hammer to test your reflexes. It’s a little unpleasant, feels similar to hitting your funny bone except not as painful. Overall, though, it’s over quickly.

Now let’s pretend that you react to this little tappity tap on your knee as if the doctor assaulted you with a sledgehammer and completely destroyed your leg, preventing you from ever walking again.

That’s pretty much what I got yesterday. Confidence: shattered. Even though I know I didn’t do anything wrong, I felt like I broke a person. Or at least an ear.

Luckily my supervisor is on an all expense paid trip to somewhere tropical with the hearing aid buying group (I guess I’ll stay on the path to this profession) so I have most of this week off to recover from my traumatizing experience. I hope to keep calm and carry an otoscope again one day soon.

This cucumber salad is very low-risk for injury. No cooking required, and you could even use a dull knife. Don’t forget safety goggles.901692291e5d9a6777f6dd2bdb0a8d32

Cucumber Feta Salad

serves 4 as a side dish

2 cucumbers

juice of 1 lemon

2 cloves garlic

3-4 tbs olive oil

salt and pepper

1/4 cup crumbled feta cheese

Slice your cucumbers. I’ve made this twice now. I did long thin strips once, and the other time I did the fancy crescent way from when I made panzanella.

Throw together the quick dressing: olive oil, fresh lemon juice, chopped garlic, salt and pepper to taste. Toss the cucumbers in the dressing, then top with feta.

I think it would be lovely to add thinly sliced red onion here for some color. But watch out- red onion is a tear-jerker.

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a comment