funfetti greek yogurt sugar cookies with the best frosting ever (seriously!)

photo 4I made these cookies as a belated birthday gift for a friend and also as a hostess gift for my other friend Adrienne who I mention all the time and so I should probably lie so you guys think I have friends other than Adrienne.  I swear I do. I also specialize in run-on sentences. My friends Joe (birthday guy) and Adrienne hosted me and a few friends at their great apartment in Buffalo so that we could go to a free country concert (Randy Houser seems cool) and party our faces off last weekend. It was a great time indeed. photo 1-1

I’ve made these cookies three times (well, only this “birthday” version once) and this frosting twice.

I told you I’m into trying great recipes over and over again right now until I’m pretty sure they are awesome or “the bomb dot com” as my Aunt Cindy would say. She also tests some of my recipes and she’s pretty bomb-y herself. Perhaps she’ll receive my next batch of these delicious cookies.

 These cookies are not too sweet and have a bit of tang from the plain Greek yogurt. The best part of adding the yogurt to the cookies, however, is the texture it lends to the final product. These cookies are sturdy, but somehow so spongy that you can actually bend them (see photo). The results is a moist, light, tender cookie with a very small crumb. Deliciousness.photo 3

This frosting is on another level. Really, truly, it belongs on a cake. I put it on a vanilla-almond layer cake a month or so ago and then everyone liked the cake. Even people that don’t normally eat cake. Many of you know I’m not a huge frosting lover, but this frosting somehow is my favorite thing in existence right now. It’s full of air bubbles, as creamy as gelato, and somehow isn’t all that sweet. It’s like creamy vanilla air. I don’t even know. You can add any extract or flavor to it if you want to spice it up a bit, too.photo 1

To make it cookie/birthday appropriate, I dyed it green and covered it in sprinkles. It worked.

Funfetti Greek Yogurt Sugar Cookies

Adapted from Alaska from Scratch

*Makes 2-3 dozen cookies, depending on size

  • 3 1/4 cups all-purpose flour (plus more for rolling)
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup  unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract (or 3/4 t almond)
  • 3/4 cups nonfat plain Greek yogurt
  • 1 cup rainbow jimmie-style sprinkles (optional)

In a large bowl, combine the butter and sugar until the sugar is completely incorporated into the butter. Continue whipping for one minute. Add the eggs, one at a time, vanilla, and yogurt, mixing completely after each addition. Add 1 cup of flour, mix lightly, add another cup of flour, baking powder, soda, and salt, mix lightly. Add the remaining one and a quarter cups of flour and mix until just combined. Add the sprinkles and stir until swirled. Divide the dough in half and flatten into two disks. Wrap each one in plastic and store in the refrigerator for at least to two hours or up to 48 hours.

When ready to bake the cookies, generously flour a clean work surface and preheat the oven to 425F. Place on dough disk onto the flour and flour the top. Roll until 1/3 inch thick with a floured rolling pin. Using a round cookie cutter or the top of a drinking glass, cut out the cookies and place them on parchment paper lined cookie sheet.

Repeat the process with the second disk of dough until all the cookies have been cut out. Bake at 425 for about 5 minutes and allow to cool completely before frosting!

photo 5

The Best Vanilla Whipped Frosting Ever can be found on Andie’s blog, “Can You Stay for Dinner?.” I refuse to tweak the recipe. I’m begging you to try it.

One thought on “funfetti greek yogurt sugar cookies with the best frosting ever (seriously!)

  1. Pingback: cookies with kids: Greek yogurt lofthouse style cookies with fresh blueberry buttercream | spill the beans

Leave a Reply

