guest post! white chocolate raspberry cupcakes

Hi Everyone! I mentioned a couple weeks ago that our friend Mandy was willing to share some of her famously delicious cupcake recipes on our blog. Today is her first post! As someone whose actually had the cupcakes she’s blogging today, I can tell you that they are every bit as good as they sound. As in, the frosting is the stuff of Gods. Take it away, Mandy…

White Chocolate Raspberry CupcakesCupcakes 016

Hello all. My name is Mandy and I like to bake.  My #1 dream in life is to open my own baked goods shop and call it Mandy Cakes and become so successful that I am invited on to Cupcake Wars and/or Top Chef Just Desserts.  Since this dream of mine is currently taking a back seat while I finish up my Master’s Degree in Environmental Studies and Policy (very related to baking, I know…) I must settle for being a guest-blogger for Spill the Beans.  Just kidding, I am not settling.  This is truly an honor.

On Friday I baked about a million cupcakes (actually only 8 dozen) to donate to a dinner/dance fundraiser for 65 Roses (aka Cystic Fibrosis).  Since the theme of the event is white, pink, and red roses, I decided to make all three types of cupcakes pink, white, and red.  Red Velvet with cream cheese frosting was of course my first thought, since it already incorporates red and white.  My next choice was Pink Lemonade, essentially my killer recipe for lemon cupcakes died pink (I’ll probably blog about this recipe around Cinco de Mayo when I make them lime and add tequila for margarita cupcakes).

I had a red and a pink cake all ready to go, so I wanted to think of a white cake with something pink or red to frost it with.  BAM- in comes white chocolate raspberry.

I have only made these cupcakes twice ever, but it is safe to say they are fantastic.  Sheila even got to try them the first time I ever made them, and after she ate one she requested I blog about them.  That means you must make this recipe.  ‘Nough said.

White Chocolate Cupcakes

Adapted from Baking Bites

  • 1 ½ cups all purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • ½ tsp salt
  • 1/3 cup butter, softened
  • ¾ cup sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • ¾ cup white chocolate
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup plus 1 Tbsp milk

Preheat oven to 325oF.  Line muffin pans with 18-24 cupcake liners.  In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, and salt.  Set aside.

In a large bowl, cream together butter and sugar until light.  Beat in eggs, one at a time.

In a small, microwave-safe bowl, melt the chopped white chocolate by heating it in 30 second intervals at half power in the microwave. Stir well between each interval and heat only until the chocolate is smooth when stirred.

Add melted white chocolate and vanilla extract to butter mixture.  Alternate adding some of the milk and some of the flour mixture until both are fully incorporated.

Divide batter evenly into cupcake liners.  Fill liners depending on the amount and size of cupcakes you want (ex. If you want 24 smaller cupcakes, fill liners about half way, or if you want 18 larger cupcakes, fill liners 2/3.  I needed 24 cupcakes so I made mine small).Cupcakes 013

Bake at 325oF for 18-22 minutes, depending on cupcake size.  Cupcakes are done when a toothpick comes out clean and the tops spring back when lightly pressed.  Let cupcakes rest in pans for 2 or 3 minutes, then remove and allow them to cool completely.

Once cupcakes are fully cooled, core the cupcakes (I use an apple corer, but you can use a special cupcake corer or simply a knife).  Save the cores to eat later, or eat them as you core.Cupcakes 015

Fill the holes with seedless raspberry jam (you can make your own, but I’ve found that it is much easier and just as delicious if you buy the jam).

Once all cupcakes are filled with jam, make the frosting.

Raspberry Whipped Cream Frosting

  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • ½ tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 ½ Tbsp granulated sugar
  • 1/3 cup seedless raspberry jam

Whip cream, vanilla, and sugar until loose peaks begin to form.  Add chilled jam and whip until firm peaks form.  Decorate cupcakes using a decorating tool or just plop right on top with a spoon if you don’t feel like getting too fancy.Cupcakes 020

One of the greatest recipes ever. Enjoy!

One thought on “guest post! white chocolate raspberry cupcakes

  1. Pingback: guest post! margarita cupcakes | spill the beans

Leave a Reply

