tilapia tacos with mango peach salsa

Have you ever had a fish taco?

They’re remarkable.

Have you ever had tilapia?

This would be the best way to try it.

I wish I had a cool story to go with these tacos, but alas, I do not. They were made on a rainy Saturday afternoon. My roommate declared them one of his favorite meals. I decided I liked tilapia and fish tacos all in one sitting. And I’ve already bought more tilapia to make these again. So yes, these are pretty darn delicious!

Before we get to the food, can I just talk to you guys about some pop culture stuff? Great. Let’s begin:

  • I can’t wait until political commercials are over with and out of my life.
  • Cloud Atlas is a mind-bender and well worth your money. See it!
  • Breaking Amish is fake and I’ll never get over all of this. LIES!
  • Does anyone watch The Next Iron Chef? Why can’t Zakarian win every season?
  • I might be the only person in the United States who watches this because no one ever talks about it, but I sometimes watch The Chew. I can’t help it, Michael Symon’s laugh is life-changing!
  • I love Denzel Washington.

And that concludes today installment of pop culture :)

Want to know what else is super trendy and chat-worthy?

Fish tacos.

Ready, steady, go!

Tilapia Tacos with Mango Peach Salsa

*Makes about seven tacos

  • Corn tortillas (I think 8″ size is best)
  • 1 recipe of these baked homemade fish sticks
  • Chopped iceberg lettuce or cabbage
  • Crumbled feta or cotija cheese
  • Mango Peach Salsa (recipe below)
  • Assorted hot sauces (optional)

Make the fish sticks by following the directions. The only change I made was to cut the strips in half so that the result was more of a “nugget” than strip (easier for stuffing into the tortillas). These can be made the day ahead of time and reheated in a 300 degree oven the day you’re making the tacos.

The nuggets, pre-bake.

Mango Peach Salsa:

  • 1 mango, diced
  • 1 peach, diced
  • 1 jalapeno pepper, minced
  • 1 tomato, diced
  • 1 bell pepper, diced
  • 2 tablespoons red onion, minced or finely diced
  • 1 tablespoon freshly chopped cilantro
  • lime juice, salt, and pepper, to taste

Combine all ingredients in a large bowl and let sit for at least an hour in the refrigerator before serving.

To assemble the tacos!

Warm a skillet over medium heat on the stove. Place a tortilla on the pan for 30 seconds to one minute per side. Repeat until all tortillas are bubbly and slightly charred. Put 4-5 cooked tilapia nuggets into a tortilla, top with lettuce, cheese, salsa, and hot sauce. Serve!

4 thoughts on “tilapia tacos with mango peach salsa

  1. I still love breaking amish. And I watch the Chew sometimes too because of Michael, Carla, and Clinton. And I watch Next Iron Chef and am equally as obsessed with Zakarian. And I can’t wait to see Flight. Thought you should know.

Leave a Reply

