hot cocoa truffles

I have a food confession.

I became lactose intolerant about two months ago.

I have a couple things to say about lactose intolerance. First, I can still eat cheese. It’s a common misconception that all cheese contains a good amount of lactose. It doesn’t. In fact, the cheese I like most do not even contain traceable amounts of the evil thing. Second, I like almond milk and soy milk. I like them in my coffee and oatmeal and I like them with granola or cereal. I do not like them on their own. Third, I don’t take any medicine to aid my intolerance. I’m stubborn.

That being said, I do miss certain foods. I miss Greek yogurt. I missed having milk with Christmas cookies. I miss filling half of my coffee mug with low-calorie skim milk and calling myself a coffee-lover. I miss Ben and Jerry. I miss it all.

Where am I going with this?

Oh, the truffles. Right.  Hot chocolate is something I have always enjoyed in the winter months, but I don’t like it with water. Only milk. Apparently some people only make it with water, but think about it: You’re mixing chocolate with water? Ew. Chocolate with milk? Everyone knows that’s delicious already.

These truffles are the culprits of the best hot chocolate I’ve ever had. And they’re the only way to get me to drink a full cup of soy milk. Make them for yourself. Make them for gifts. Just make them.

Hot Cocoa Truffles

Adapted from Mel’s Kitchen Cafe

  •  2 cups dark chocolate chips or morsels
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 tsp sugar
  • 1/8 tsp salt

In a mixing bowl, combine all ingredients. Microwave for thirty seconds. Stir. Repeat. Continue until chocolate is melted and the mixture is silky smooth. Do not microwave too many times, or for too long. Chocolate is sensitive and if it burns, you will need to start over. Just be patient and stir generously.

Let the mixture cool to room temperature and then place in the refrigerator (or out in the snow because we have no room in our refrigerator) for about two hours (less if it’s in the snow). The mixture should be firm, allowing you to scoop heaping tablespoons from the chocolate. Scoop the entire mixture and form into spheres that about 2 tablespoons each. Place in the fridge, or outside, for about 20 minutes.

Wrap each mound in plastic wrap and store in freezer until ready to use.

To serve: Fill a mug with milk, soy-almond-dairy-or-otherwise, and drop in one of the truffles. Microwave for two minutes and stir. Top with mini marshmallows, Baileys Irish Cream, whipped cream, alcoholic whipped cream, marshmallow vodka, or nothing at all! You decide.

And can I just say? Yum.

Hot chocolate reminds me of my grandma. She always served me hot chocolate with a side of crunchy, buttered toast. It’s like a body-warming meal of chocolate-covered pretzels. Try it!

Leave a Reply

