hybrid cupcakes with cream cheese frosting

Hi! Hope you had a happy, haunted Halloween! (Just wanted to squeeze in 6 H’s for good measure).

We had an eventful weekend here in Plattsburgh. In addition to Halloween festivities, it was family weekend. Both the roommate’s and my families came for Saturday and Sunday… puppy included.

The most still photo I could get of her. And she is getting WAY too big.

It was a great weekend full of good food, margaritas, some home improvement, lots of laughter, and of course: a hike.

View from Rattlesnake Mountain

To make our house smell better welcome our guests, I whipped up these treats on Saturday morning. 

They’re a hybrid of a cookie and cupcake… and everything is better with cream cheese frosting and sprinkles. I’ve seen a few of these cookie-cupcake concoctions on other blogs, and thanks to my fierce loyalty, I chose to use the recipe on How Sweet It Is. She might think I stalk her. I made another one of her treats tonight. I’ll pump the brakes.

Regardless, props to Jess, because these were a hit. Everyone liked them, and we’re still happily gobbling them up in between meals here.  If you think it might be weird to have a softcake finish with a chewy cookie, I’m going to have to challenge that. It’s so right.

Here is the link to the recipe. I followed her directions, except for I didn’t do the milk separately. I also didn’t measure my cookie layer and just plopped in enough to cover the bottom of the liner and then some.

I used parchment paper cupcake liners and sprayed them lightly with vegetable oil to allow removing the papers after baking.

After the cupcakes cooled, I frosted them with this cream cheese frosting. This frosting is perfect in that it’s not too sweet and we’re currently deciding what to bake to pair with the remaining frosting because it’s just too good to waste.

Cream Cheese Frosting

  • 1 brick, or 8 oz., softened cream cheese
  • 1 cup, or 2 sticks, softened butter
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3 c powdered sugar

Using an electric mixer, cream together the butter, cream cheese, and vanilla. Once combined, gradually add sugar until whipped and fluffy. 

Naturally, add sprinkles.

Let’s eat.

4 thoughts on “hybrid cupcakes with cream cheese frosting

  1. Pingback: coffee-specked pancakes with maple cream cheese glaze « spill the beans

  2. Pingback: brownies two ways « spill the beans

  3. Pingback: mini frosted candy-stuffed cookie cakes | spill the beans

Leave a Reply

