tully’s tenders

I have many obsessions.

I’m the kind of person that ‘loves’ something immediately and sticks to it. Among the list of things I have unconditionally loved for the majority of my life are: Tom Hanks, Denzel Washington, charcoal gray, labrador retrievers, Kate Winslet, dental hygiene, and Tully’s chicken tenders.

Part of a 2003(?) Christmas present from my blogging partner.

My mom can attest to any one of these. So can pretty much anyone who’s spent the day with me. These things are bound to come up.

The back. Just so you knew I wasn't lying. And realized how cool we are.

Most of those things I can access from my apartment. Or on the internet. Or in my DVD collection. Tully’s chicken tenders being the exception. There is no Tully’s in Plattsburgh. Meaning there are no adequate chicken tenders in Plattsburgh.

If you think I’m being dramatic, I’m not. I’ve converted many nonbelievers to the Tully’s tribe. It was one of my missions in college. Tully’s was where we always went during high school; Now it’s where we reunite during breaks, get tipsy during happy hour (try the Kool-Aid if you haven’t already), and bring our new friends so they can better relate to us. My roommate and I alone have gone to Tully’s in three different cities. I’m not sure I should have admitted that.

Tully's Kool-Aid. Only $3.95!

Since I haven’t had Tully’s since July, you can bet I’ve been jonesing for some chicken tenders. On Saturday, I gave it my best attempt:

Styled by the roommate.

Tully’s Chicken Tenders

  • 12 chicken breast tenders
  • 4 c (or so) white flour
  • 1 T Salt
  • 1 T pepper
  • 1/2 T garlic powder
  • 1/2 T ground cayenne
  • 4 eggs
  • Canola oil, for frying

First, set up your breading station. Put the eggs in a large bowl and whisk until distributed. In a separate bowl, combine the flour, salt, pepper, garlic, and cayenne and mix. Now, coat each chicken tender in egg, then dredge in flour mixture. Twice. If it isn’t completely coated after two times, do it a third. 

In a large skillet, heat 1/4-1/2″ of canola oil over medium heat until it reaches 350 degrees. Again, I don’t have a thermometer, but drop in a flour/egg crumb and see what happens. If it sizzles right away, but doesn’t turn brown for a minute or two… you’re ready.

Depending on the size of your skillet, put 2-4 tenders in the oil at a time. Cook for four minutes on each side, until golden brown. I did three at a time, and placed the already cooked ones on a cookie sheet in the oven at 200 degrees to keep warm.

Serve with your favorite dipping sauces (or four) and dig in.

 

It’s not Tully’s, but it’s darn close.

 

 

8 thoughts on “tully’s tenders

  1. Pingback: our bloggiversary! « spill the beans

  2. Pingback: weekday cake | spill the beans

  3. I am definitely going to try to make these but I am really looking for a recipe of their sauce on the Asian tenders. Got anything for that?

Leave a Reply

