cut-out cookies

Halloween is just around the river bend!

I’m being robbed of Halloween this year. No costume. No trick-or-treaters. No excuse to buy the jumbo bag of fun-sized candy. No party with adult beverages. I don’t want to talk about it.

I love Halloween. I love costumes (as long as they don’t involve masks). And I love that it’s a day out of the year where all age groups can dress like complete idiotssuperstars and have a fantastic time. The frivolity puts my judgmental brain to rest. Unless you’re a fifteen year old girl and dressing as a ‘bad cop.’ Judged hard.

2008. Call me Trixie.

To help compensate for my lack of a true Halloween this year, I made these cookies. My friend Mel (who I might add is going to culinary school next year and knows far more about food than I probably ever will) ventured all the way up to Plattsburgh from New York City to visit. She’s the best. We made these cookies on Saturday. They are almost gone. And so is Mel. Wah.

Cut-out Sugar Cookies

Makes about 25 cookies

  • 1 c butter, room temperature
  • 1 c sugar
  • 3 T milk
  • 1 t vanilla
  • 1 egg
  • 3 c flour
  • 1 1/2 t baking powder
  • 1/2 t salt

In a mixing bowl, combine the butter, sugar, milk, vanilla, and egg and mix on low speed until creamy and well-combined. In a separate bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, and salt and slowly add the dry mixture into the sugar bowl, mixing simultaneously. Once a dough has formed (you might use your hands), form into a disk, cover with plastic wrap, and refrigerate for an hour.

Preheat oven to 350 and lightly grease a cookie sheet (or two). Generously flour your cookie surface and chilled dough. Using a rolling pin, or bottle of Three Olives, roll out the dough until it is about 1/4″ thick. Cut out your shapes and roll the remaining dough until all of it has been transformed into pumpkins. Or any shape you choose. Bake for about 8 minutes, until the cookies bounce back slightly when you touch the surface.

Let cool to room temperature and prepare your decorations. Fun times.

I made That’s the Best Frosting I’ve Ever Had and it pretty much was. Actually, Mel made it because I’m incapable of deciphering 5 cups of flour from 5 tablespoons of flour and I made a mess. Four times.

As far as frosting goes, this is the creamiest frosting I’ve literally ever had. It has a few more steps than regular frosting recipes, but as someone who doesn’t usually like white frosting, I assure you it’s worth it. Give it a go.

Next, divide your frosting into different bowls and mix in the food coloring of your choice. I left some white, and had green and orange. Divide the colored frosting into two and place half into Ziploc bags to use as piping icing. Worth it. Buy whatever else you’d like to go on top, I bought silver sprinkles because they looked cool and some black writing gel.

Mel's blog debut.

Your decorating station is now ready.

Employ two of your besties to help you and let the creativity flow. 

Then pour a glass of milk and eat. Or dunk. Or both.

Someone had too much frosting.

Special thanks to my lovely mother who gave me the cookie cutter and the delicious recipe!

I also wanted to thank all our friends that read this and comment. You make our dayz.

2 thoughts on “cut-out cookies

  1. Those cookies look delicious! And like they were a T O N of fun to make =) Thanks for including my forearm and my seasonally polished nails. I can’t wait for Christmas cookies <3 Luff you.

Leave a Reply

