baked garlic fries

I’m baaaaaack.

Back from Geneseo and a hell week of classes unscathed, that is. Geneseo was absolutely amazing and school is supposedly my priority so I can’t feel too guilty, but I am back in the swing of things now, I assure you! And I have the $80 grocery bill from last night to prove it. Good grief.

Anyway, these fries were my my lunch/dinner/snack on Monday because I have class from 4-10 pm and I was craving some carbs that I knew would keep me full. Also, I just wanted french fires and these looked dang good. And they were.

Baked Garlic Fries

Adapted from  The Purple Foodie

  • 1 large russet potato
  • 5 tbs extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 large clove of garlic, minced
  • 2 tbs cornstarch
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1/4 tsp salt, I used sea salt
  • 1/4 tsp ground black pepper

Preheat the oven to 440. Line a baking sheet with tin foil if you hate doing dishes, like me. Slice the potato into 12 wedges lengthwise, then cut in half.

Over medium-low heat, warm the olive oil and minced garlic until fragrant. Remove about half the oil and use it to grease the baking sheet. In a microwave-safe bowl, toss the garlic, oil, and potato wedges. Cover tightly in plastic wrap and microwave for about 3 minutes, or until the edges of the wedges (good rhyme) are becoming translucent. The bowl will be really hot, so don’t remove it with your bare hands… like I did.

Combine all of the dry ingredients in a mixing bowl, mixing with a fork until well-distributed. Coat the microwaved fries evenly in the powder mixture. I did this by laying the fries on the baking sheet, sprinkling half the mixture over them, then flipping the fries and sprinkly the second half of the mixtures on that side.

Bake at 440 for 30-40 minutes, flipping them once. The fries should be crispy and golden brown, but tender on the inside.

These are spicy and delicious. I ate some with ranch and some with ketchup, but most of them just on their own. Perfect for Fall.

Also: is Fall coming too fast for anyone else? Since when is it almost October? I feel like I’m going to blink and WalMart will be full of classy Christmas decorations. I want my beach weather back!

(good thing I went to Plattsburgh)

Leave a Reply

